The relatively new Designated Home State (DHS) license is designed to provide individuals who are residents of non-licensing states, a means to designate a home state for the purposes of reciprocity and compliance.
Licensees gain reciprocity for additional state licenses as though the DHS is their home state and only need to fulfill the continuing education requirements of this DHS to keep their licenses active. In June of 2014, we published an article clarifying key aspects of the DHS license, such as who needs it, which state is best, reciprocity, and processing time.
Since that article, AdjusterPro has been recommending the Texas and Indiana DHS licenses to our students who need to designate a home state. Both states have pros and cons – Indiana is speedy but more expensive and Texas is a little cheaper but takes more time to obtain – however we wouldn’t consider one better than the other in terms of their functionality once the license is issued. Because Florida offers a fairly straightforward licensing process with a quick turnaround time, we feel that Florida should be a strong contender for anyone needing a DHS license.
Here is a snapshot of the adjuster licensing options in Florida and where the 70-20 fits in:
- The 6-20 is for resident adjusters.
- The 7-20 is for non-resident adjusters from states that license adjusters. (For those adjusters that currently hold the 7-20, Florida will transfer the license to a 70-20 upon written request.)
- The 70-20 DHS is for adjusters from non-licensing states that would like to designate Florida as their home state.
To get the Florida 70-20 DHS license, a non-resident adjuster from a non-licensing state would need to obtain a Florida approved adjuster designation, like AdjusterPro’s, or pass the Florida all-lines adjuster exam. Then, he would apply for the license, designating Florida as his home state, and receive all of the same reciprocity benefits of a 6-20 resident home state license. The adjuster only needs to complete the bi-annual Florida continuing education requirements to keep the licenses active.
Here’s a little more about the 70-20 DHS license:
- The license is good for 4 years – double the length of time for TX and IN.
- Latest reports say Florida processes applications same day, but let’s say 3 business days to play it safe. This makes Florida the quickest turnaround for having your license in-hand after completing the coursework, testing and application process.
- Florida’s 70-20 is affordable with the cost falling between the Indiana and Texas options.
If you’re interested in acquiring the 70-20, AdjusterPro’s Certified Adjuster Designation is just the ticket to get you started. Our course offers practice exams which can be taken as many times as needed before attempting the final. Our students usually pass the 100-question final exam on the first attempt but if you don’t, there is no mandatory waiting period or financial penalty to retake it.
The Florida 70-20 is a good option for those in need of a Designated Home State license. It offers a moderate price and a quick turnaround providing a great middle ground between Indiana’s speedy but more expensive license, and Texas’ more affordable but slower processing license. Ultimately, you can’t go wrong with any of them. But isn’t it nice to have options?