If you’re interested in becoming a public adjuster in Florida, it’s important to know the process and continuing education requirements differ from those for an independent claims adjuster. Read on to see how to get your public adjuster license, changes from the previous process, and important information about public adjuster CE.
In 2018, The Florida Department of Financial Services made some changes in order to simplify the process of getting the 3-20 Public Adjuster License.
The Old Method
The biggest change is that the 31-20 Public Adjuster Apprentice License no longer exists. In the previous process, obtaining the 31-20 apprentice license was the first step towards a full PA License. That is no longer the case. As a refresher, we’ve listed the step-by-step instructions for public adjuster licensing BEFORE the regulations changed.
- Pass the 31-20 public adjuster course and state exam (or approved designation course, such as All-Lines Certified Adjuster Designation).
- Prior to applying for your license and throughout the apprenticeship period, you must have a $50,000 surety bond.
- Apply for the 31-20 Public Adjuster Apprentice license and submit your fingerprints.
- Once you obtain the 31-20 license, you must be appointed by a licensed public adjuster or public adjusting firm and work under them for a minimum of 12 months.
- After completing your apprenticeship, you need to take and pass the 3-20 Public Adjuster exam through Pearson Vue.
- Get a $50,000 surety bond to cover the license period.
- Apply for the Florida 3-20 Public Adjuster License.
The New Method (as of 1/1/2018)
We wanted to mention a few advantages of the new system before getting into the step-by-step instructions. In the new process, all adjuster hopefuls – staff, independent, and public – start by getting the 6-20 Resident Adjuster License. This gives you a lot more career flexibility as you won’t have to take another exam or get a different license should you change your mind on the type of adjuster you want to be, or be offered a position in another sector. Another big advantage is the state cut the apprenticeship period by 6 months! That means you can get your 3-20 license in roughly in half the time.
- Pass the 6-20 state exam, or pass an approved alternate course like that offered by All-Lines Training. Our Certified Adjuster Designation satisfies all the Florida Dept. of Financial Services requirements for getting your 6-20 license, including the exam requirement. (See Florida Statute 626.221 (j) where certification by All‑Lines Training (a brand of AdjusterPro) is approved as an alternative to the state exam.)
- Apply for the 6-20 Resident Adjuster License, including getting your fingerprints submitted.
- It’s important to note that once you receive this license, you can work as an independent or staff adjuster. To get your public adjuster license, continue with the following steps.
- After you receive your 6-20 license, you must be appointed by a public adjuster or public adjusting firm and apprentice under them for 6 months. (Holding a self-appointed license as an independent adjuster or a company-appointed license as a staff adjuster for a minimum of 12 months satisfies the state’s apprenticeship requirement as well.)
- During this apprenticeship period, you must have a $50,000 surety bond.
- After completing your apprenticeship, pass the 3-20 Public Adjuster exam with Pearson Vue.
- You will need a $50,000 surety bond to cover the license period.
- Apply for the 3-20 Florida Public Adjuster License.
So to recap, the major changes made by the Florida Department of Financial Services were:
- Getting rid of the 31-20 license, in favor of a 6-20 for all.
- Reducing the apprenticeship time from 12 to 6 months (or 1 year for independent and staff adjusters).
The full list of requirements from the Department of Financial Services can also be found on the Florida Public Adjuster Webpage.
Florida Public Adjuster Continuing Education
Public adjusters in Florida must take continuing education courses approved for public adjusters in order to receive CE credits. Courses for independent adjusters do not meet the state’s public adjuster CE requirements so it’s best to check for public adjuster specification before purchasing.
AdjusterPro offers three state-approved public adjuster continuing education courses.
- Ethics: Why Being Good Pays
- Statutes & Law: Legal Stuff Explained in Simple English
- Flood Insurance: Staying Afloat in a Sea of Rules
What if I’m not a Florida Resident?
For nonresidents, the process is very similar. However, you must have been licensed in your home state for at least 1 year.
To obtain your 73-20 Non-Resident All-Lines Adjuster license:
- Show proof of a public adjuster license in your resident state. Proof must be verifiable by the National Association Insurance Commissioners (NAIC). You must have been licensed and working continuously for a minimum of 12 months.
- Get a $50,000 surety bond to cover the license period
- Apply for the 73-20 license, including getting your fingerprints submitted.
- Upon approval, take and pass the 3-20 Public Adjuster exam with Pearson Vue.
The full list of requirements from the Department of Financial Services can also be found on the Florida Nonresident Public Adjuster Webpage.
If you have any additional questions, please don’t hesitate to contact us. We are here to help.